Class Schedule

 DATE TOPICS (may be rearranged to fit the class needs) DECKS   HOMEWORK
Thu, Jan 18 WELCOME!
Intro to the class, tools, and resources
Deck
No Homework due
 PART I PROCESS AUTOMATION

Tue, Jan 23 THE TECHNOLOGY: Excel, VBA, Visual Studio, and SQL
Read Walkenbach 2016, Chapter 39 Reading requires a VPN if you are not on grounds
Deck
Homework 1 due
Thu, Jan 25 MODELING FINANCIAL PROCESSES Deck
Homework 2 due
Tue, Jan 30 ALGORITHMIC THINKING: Control Structures
Homework 3 due
Thu, Feb 1 ALGORITHMIC THINKING: Procedures VB keyword dictionary - VBA keyword dictionary  Deck
Homework 4 due
 PART II BUSINESS INTELLIGENCE IN FINANCE

Tue, Feb 6 BI TOOLS: SQL - Intro to SQL with the SmallBankDB Deck
Homework 5 due
Thu, Feb 8 DATA QUALITY: MANIPULATING DATA - T-SQL keyword dictionary Deck
Homework 6 due
Tue, Feb 13 DATA QUALITY: MANIPULATING DATA  II Deck
Homework 7 due
Thu, Feb 15 BI TOOLS: SQL VBA and Excel Deck
Homework 8 due
Tue, Feb 20 SQL, VBA and Excel II Deck
Homework 9 due
Thu, Feb 22 SQL, VBA and Excel III

Homework 10 due
Tue, Feb 27 BI TOOLS: PIVOT TABLES -  Pivot tables fundamentals - Chpt 1-2

 PART III FINANCIAL ANALYTICS

Thu, Mar 1 INTRODUCTION TO THE HEDGE TOURNAMENT (Rulebook in sidebar)


Spring Break

Tue, Mar 13 INTRODUCTION TO THE HEDGE TOURNAMENT (cont.)  
Thu, Mar 15 OPTIONS - The Nasdaq's options trading guide

Tue, Mar 20 BLACK SCHOLES COMPUTATIONAL FUNDAMENTALS

Thu, Mar 22 FINANCIAL STRATEGIES: PAYOFF CURVES

Tue, Mar 27 FINANCIAL STRATEGIES: HEDGING

Thu, Mar 29 IMPLIED VOLATILITY


Tue, Apr 3 ALGO TRADING: HEDGING A PORTFOLIO

Thu, Apr 5 ALGO TRADING: THE SMART HEDGER

Tue, Apr 10 ADVANCED TOPICS: TIMERS

Thu, Apr 12 NO CLASS

Tue, Apr 17 GAMMA HEDGING

Thu, Apr 19 FIM TOPICS

Tue, Apr 24 No morning class

Tue. Apr 24 THE MCINTIRE HEDGE TOURNAMENT: from 5pm to 9pm  
Thu Apr 26 No regular class

Tue May 1 *** PRIZES, PICTURES, AND LESSONS LEARNED  - @ 5pm in the regular classroom ***

Contents

The Tournament

Some of the following links will be enabled later in the course.