Class Schedule

 DATE TOPICS (may be rearranged to fit the class needs) DECKS   HOMEWORK
Tue, Jan 15 Welcome!  Intro to the class, tools, and resources Deck
No Homework due
 PART I PROCESS AUTOMATION

Thu, Jan 17 The technology: Excel, VBA, and Visual Studio
Read Walkenbach 2016, Chapter 39. Reading requires a VPN if you are not on grounds.

Deck

Hmwk01
Tue, Jan 22 Process automation:  Activity diagrams
VB keyword dictionary - VBA keyword dictionary
Deck
Hmwk02
Thu, Jan 24 Process Automation: from models to code Deck
Hmwk03
Tue, Jan 29 Loops, subs and functions
If you would like a VBA handbook, see the bottom of the readings and software section

Deck

Hmwk04
 PART II BUSINESS INTELLIGENCE IN FINANCE

Thu, Jan 31 BI tools: SQL - Intro to SQL with the SmallBankDB
If you would like a SQL handbook, see the bottom of the readings and software section

Deck

Hmwk05
Tue, Feb 5 BI tools: getting SQL, VBA, and Excel to work I - Canned queries - T-SQL keyword dictionary Deck
Hmwk06
Thu, Feb 7 BI tools: getting SQL, VBA, and Excel to work II - Dynamic queries Deck
Hmwk07
Tue, Feb 12 BI tools: getting SQL, VBA, and Excel to work III - Non-queries Deck
Hmwk08
Thu, Feb 14 Data quality: manipulating data  II Deck
Hmwk09
Tue, Feb 19 Data quality: manipulating data  II
Deck
Hmwk10
Thu, Feb 21 BI Tools: Pivot tables -  Pivot tables fundamentals - Chapter 1-2 Deck
Hmwk11
 PART III FINANCIAL ANALYTICS

Tue, Feb 26 Introduction to the Hedge Tournament (Rulebook in sidebar) Deck
Hmwk12
Thu, Feb 28 Introduction to the Hedge Tournament (cont.) Deck Hmwk13
Tue, Mar 5 Options - Black Scholes fundamentals - The NASDAQ's options trading guide Deck
Hmwk14
Thu, Mar 7 Transactions: Stock and Options no deck
Hmwk15

SPRING BREAK


Tue, Mar 19 Trading (see also the Rulebook) Deck
Hmwk16
Thu, Mar 21 Financial strategies for hedging Deck
Hmwk17
Tue, Mar 26 Implied volatility (tool is here) and financial charts
Deck
Hmwk18
Thu, Mar 28 Algo trading: delta hedging Deck
Hmwk19
Tue, Apr 2 Algo trading: delta hedging a portfolio Deck
Hmwk20
Thu, Apr 4 Algo trading: simulation Deck
Hmwk21
Tue, Apr 9 Algo trading: timers Deck
Hmwk22
Thu, Apr 11 Performance improvements Deck
Hmwk23
Tue, Apr 16 Performance improvements: error log Deck

Thu, Apr 18 Advanced topics

Tue. Apr 23 THE MCINTIRE HEDGE TOURNAMENT: 5pm to 9pm, 3rd floor labs (no morning class)  
Thu Apr 25 No regular class

Tue Apr 30 *** Prizes, pictures, and lessons learned ***  5pm RRH 116

Contents

The Tournament

Some of the following links will be enabled later in the course.